Looks like a rather blustery day today

February 12, 2009 at 10:22 pm 11 comments

Does anyone else remember that song from Winnie the pooh, the one with the windy blustery day?  That sure does fit here.  We’ve had wind gusts up to 50 mph!  I hope you all stayed safe out there if you had some strong winds like we did.  The weird thing is, it was still pretty warm, I didn’t even need a coat when I went out at lunchtime today.

I got my gift from my secret cupid today!  Oh my gosh you would not believe the goodies I got!  But lets quickly go over my eats for the day so I can share my incredible package with you guys!

In my typical Thursday fashion I forgot my camera!  What is the deal?  I’m pretty sure I’ve forgotten it close to every Thursday since I started this blog, it’s pretty ridiculous but kind of expected at this point.

Breakfast was overnight oats, with 3/4 of a banana, 1/2 a cup oats, 1/2 a cup skim milk, 1 tbsp water, cinnamon and vanilla extract.  I also added blueberries as a topping.

0212090847

Delicious!

For lunch I had 1/2 of my leftover chicken from last night in a salad with romaine and cucs. 

0212091202a

I also had some grapes!  I can’t get enough of them right now!

0212091455

Very unlike me but I had sweets again this week, my boss is on a baking kick.  She’s my boss so I can’t really turn down sweets right?  I had one oatmeal raisin cookie, it was pretty small but it was good.

0212091613

I didn’t feel like cooking so Andrew and I went out for lunch today, we went to a restaurant down the street from our apartment, I got the grilled chicken sandwich with mozzarella cheese, it was good, but not something I would get often.  The best part was definitely the roll, it was a potato roll of some sort.  It came with chips on the side that were made in the restaurant, they were similar to kettle chips and I had more then a few.

Picture 004 

Now on to the fun stuff!  My secret cupid turned out to be Ellie of Inside I’m Still Dancing.  She commented on one of my posts a few days ago and I began reading her blog.  She is a wonderful person and I was so happy and grateful to receive her gifts.  And she’s from Scotland so all these goodies came a long way!  I love blogging for who it’s introduced me to, I mean it connected me to someone in Scotland and that’s amazing! 

First look at this beautiful card she sent.  Inside was a handwritten message as well as some great quotes.  Such as:

“Happiness is a gift you can give yourself.”

and

“Don’t let one mess-up make you think you’re rubbish.  Acknowledge the glitch and move on.  As you start again, say, ‘Bring it on – I’m ready!’”

After my not so successful attempt at a healthy dinner I was really beating myself up, this message came just in time and it made me feel so much better. Perfect timing Ellie.

Picture 006

And she wrapped all the presents in pretty red wrapping paper!

 

Picture 010

Here’s a shot of all the goodies I received!

Picture 014

I got cappachino coated coffee beans which I wanted to rip open instantly, but I’m extremely sensitive to caffeine and can’t have it after like 7 on a weekday, so I decided to wait until tomorrow.  I can’t wait though!

Picture 016  

I also got “Flying Saucers” which are “sherbet filled candy shapes.”

Picture 018

I had to try one of these right away. Here’s the outside.

Picture 027

And here’s the inside.  I can’t explain the taste but it was so good!  The outside just melted away and the inside was the sweet/slightly sour taste.  It was delicious and a lot of fun to eat.

Picture 030

I also received a cute pair of heart socks which I can’t wait to wear!

Picture 017

Ellie also sent me Suma Square Soap. It smells delicious, I will definitely be using this tomorrow morning in the shower.

Picture 019 Picture 020

And lastly she sent me a bag of Cacao nibs which are organic raw.  It is described on the package as:

“Outrageously nutritious… five times more antioxidants than any other food..Pure vibrant and genuinely raw, these nibs (small pieces of cacao bean) nourish body mind and emotion.”

How awesome is that?

Picture 022

I had to try a couple pieces of this as well just to see what the taste was like.  It was really good and I can’t wait to try mixing it with oatmeal!

Picture 025

Thank you again Ellie so much!  This was a great package and I’m very grateful for your kindness!

I know yesterday I asked for recommendations for places to eat in Inner Harbor for the weekend and Ashley offered to help us find somewhere to eat.  Unfortunately we won’t be going, I have a few things I need to spend some money on that I completely forgot, (ie I have to put a deposit down on my dress for my cousin’s wedding this weekend) as well as my usual bills.  So we’ll be kicking it at home for V-day I’m sure we’ll be able to find something fun to do locally though.  Thanks for your help though Ashley, maybe we’ll be able to head that way soon though and you can recommend somewhere.

I hope you all have a great night!  I’m so thankful tomorrow is Friday, I’m totally ready for the weekend.

Oh and I just found out tonight my Uncle Bobby reads my blog, so Hi Uncle Bobby, Love you!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, lunch, snack. Tags: , , , , , , .

Creature of Habit Friday Night Slumbey

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Shelby  |  February 12, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Cacao Nibs in oatmeal!? Now that I’ve gotta try.

  • 2. Sharon  |  February 13, 2009 at 12:32 am

    Oh my gosh, those are sooo coool things you got! And oh my tasty tasty eats! And hello to Uncle Bobby! LOL!

  • 3. Kate  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:32 am

    CUTE!!! I am way jealous-the coffee beans esp look amazing! I’ve had dark choc covered ones like ALL THE TIME at work so I’m sure those would be equally addicting…

  • 4. ellie  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:35 am

    so glad it came and you like at 😀 as soon as I saw the cocoa, I thought “oatmeal topping”! Lol… And I know you don’t like sweet stuff too much, but the flying saucers are just fun to eat (and really low cal- the whole bag is less than 75 cals…)

    Enjoy the rest of your week!

  • 5. Laura  |  February 13, 2009 at 8:59 am

    What are overnight oats and how do they differ from regular oatmeal? I’m intrigued…

  • 6. Sarah  |  February 13, 2009 at 9:50 am

    great package!!

    i love fun socks — mine have hearts on them today, too 🙂

  • 7. fitforfree  |  February 13, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Oh my goodness, I LOVE cacao nibs!!! especially sprinkled over fruit salad 🙂 what a great package!

  • 8. dailygoods  |  February 13, 2009 at 10:50 am

    hopefully nexttime you can make it 🙂 do you live close to baltimore?? i love your package everything is so wonderful 🙂 have a great vday weekend my dear!

  • 9. bob haran  |  February 13, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Hello Danielle .

    Love your web site and i’m getting hungry just looking at it. ha.ha.. Let me know when your writting soon for a food magazine or have your own show on the food network !!! LOL
    Hello back to you to you Sharon !!!! ha..ha

    Love ,
    Uncle Bobby

  • 10. Meghann  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    I think thats really the only winnie the pooh epiesode I remember!

    Great Secret Cupid Gift! Those Cappuchino Covered Coffee beans sound amazing!!

  • 11. cleanveggiex3  |  February 13, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    mm love overnight oats & grapes!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email Me:

365healthyeats@gmail.com

Follow Me On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

