Archive for February 19, 2009

Fat Sandwiches

Hey everyone!  I’m feeling better again, still not 100% but so much closer, I’m excited to go to the gym tomorrow.  I took another night off and I know I needed it, but I’ll be so happy when I’m able to workout at full capacity again.  I’m sure tomorrow is going to be hard but it’s going to be so nice to get back in there.

Today I was in a really good when I got to work.  The sun was shining it was in the 50’s, I was feeling better, and then I got to work, everyone seemed to be in a bad mood today.  The clouds quickly rolled in with drizzles here and there, and the temperature dropped down to 35*.  But it’s Thursday so I was trying not to let everyone else’s moods affect my attitude for the day.  It’s hard trying to be positive when everyone else was so negative, but I know that tomorrow everyone will be happy it’s Friday, as will I.  I mean you get to wear jeans to work tomorrow.  Things don’t get much better then that right? Ha.

So I started out the morning with a blueberry Chobani.  I still think this isn’t the best flavor, I’ll stick to plain, vanilla, and peach from now on, but I’m glad I was able to find this in the store and try it.  I also had 2 clementines on the side.

Picture 001

All I wanted today for lunch was pb on a bagel, I settled for 1/2 a bagel with lots of fruit on the side.  I had grapes, blueberries, and 2 prunes to go along with my peanut buttery bagel.

Picture 004

Picture 003

Yum!

I still don’t have my full appetite back so there was no snacking in between meals, but my mom texted me this afternoon to ask if Andrew and I wanted to go to one of the local diners for dinner.  If you’ve been to or are from NJ you know that diners are every 1/2 mile on the highways.  If you’re from Jersey I’d bet you spent many countless hours at a table in a diner, just drinking coffee or eating pork roll, egg, and cheese on a hard roll (ewww not me though, I’ve always loathed pork roll).  I’d even go so far as to guess you’ve gone to a diner after at least one homecoming or school dance all dressed up with a big group of friends.  Yeah, we really love diners in Jersey.  At a diner you can get anything, Italian food, Greek gyros, Mexican food, and of course breakfast 24 hours a day.  Or if you go to my local diner you can get a “Fat Sandwich.”  Intrigued?  Here’s the selection of Fat Sandwiches at the diner tonight.

Picture 006

All those ingredients are on one Sub roll.  So if you order a Fat Flo you’d get a sub roll with chicken fingers, mozzarella sticks, french fries and marinara sauce all stuffed on there. Or perhaps you’re very hungry and that’s not enough.  May I suggest a Fat Manny, which is  cheese steak, eggs, pork roll, lettuce, tomato, mayo, and ketchup all on a long roll.

I ordered a Fat Nancy.

I’m kidding of course.  My order was not on the “Fat Cat” portion of the menu.  I got a veggie wrap which included grilled eggplant and zucchini, spinach, tomatoes, romaine lettuce, carrots, red onions, and mozzarella cheese, with balsamic dressing on the side.

Picture 009

 

Picture 011

It came with french fries, but Andrew’s meal came with home fries so I gave him all my fries for 1/2 of his home fries.   Delicious.  I ate one 1/2 the wrap and then picked the eggplant off the other half and just ate that, and I also ate almost all of the home fries.

Oh and my dad got a greek salad with his entree so I gladly ate some of that as well.

Here’s the whole salad.

Picture 008

I ate less then a 1/4 of his salad, mostly just picked out all his onions and ate those.

So there you have it, a typical night at a Jersey Diner, hope you enjoyed yourselves!

 

Hope you all have a great night, and hope your Friday flies by so you can start enjoying your weekends!

February 19, 2009 at 9:58 pm 8 comments


Email Me:

365healthyeats@gmail.com

Pages

February 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728