Cheese From a What?!

May 1, 2009 at 8:02 am 17 comments

Sorry I didn’t post last night there’s so much going on here and not enough time in the day.  I have a very busy weekend and I’m not sure I’ll be able to read and comment blogs but by Friday afternoon I should be home free and able to catch up! 

For breakfast yesterday I totally switched it up and some cereal, blackberries, and non-greek yogurt (gasp).  I decided to splurge on other things at whole foods the other day and didn’t grab any.  I bought a big container of Stoneyfield Vanilla yogurt, it’s okay but it’s not thick and creamy like I’m used to!

Picture 002

This cereal mix is 365 brand high fiber cereal and Kashi Island Vanilla.  How have I never gotten this before?  It’s so delicious!

If you haven’t noticed the trend this week I didn’t make lunches ahead and was forced to leave and pick up something for lunch.  Yesterday I went for a cheap meal from Quick Check, I got a whole wheat wrap with roast beef, fresh mozzarella, cucs, red onions, lettuce, and vinegar.

Picture 004

Decent.

Once I came back from work I was accosted by co-workers to try a snack that one of them had brought back from his trip home to Mongolia.  This man has brought in things to our pot lucks like yak cheese, and horse milk.  My first question was if it was yak cheese, he answered it wasn’t and then handed me a piece of this.

Picture 010 

Any guesses?  He broke me off a much smaller piece for me to try.  I put it in my mouth and instantly I was hit with this tangy sour taste.  It was definitely cheese but I couldn’t figure out how cheese could be crunchy like a meringue.  The flavor was pretty awful but bearable.  After I said it tasted like a bad piece of cheese cake that had been left out in the sun, they told me what I had just consumed.

CAMEL CHEESE!

OH MY GOD!  I didn’t know what to think, I promptly returned the rest of this chunk and then drank a whole bottle of water.  After about an hour I started to feel a little nauseous so I decided to eat something that I know would taste wonderful and hopefully settle the feeling in my tummy! 

Picture 009

It worked until other co-workers started trying it, and I started to feel ill again.  So did my boss so we took a lot of unscheduled breaks to go outside and get some fresh air.

Dinner last night was a taco made out of 3 meatless meatballs.

Picture 012

This was fantastic as usual.

After dinner I went to go see Jessica’s,  one of my best friend’s, new apartment!  She is moving into an apartment about a 5 minute walk from us!  Just like Andrew and I, she’s living on the 3rd floor of an old Victorian house.  It’s adorable and I couldn’t wait to see it!  So we spent the evening hanging out there helping her clean.  After we got home it was time for us to clean because my aunt might be stopping by tonight. 

On the Agenda for the weekend.

Friday

  • bank
  • mall with mom
  • lunch with mom and her friend
  • helping Jessica move in
  • visiting with my aunt from Virginia
  • shopping for vacation clothes!

Saturday

  • Driving up to upstate NY for my cousin’s communion and communion party, which is an all day affair.

Sunday

  • Setting up my cousin’s bridal shower
  • Then the shower itself, I’m dreading it, I don’t get along with the bride’s mom, my aunt, and her other daughter and my cousin, we haven’t spoken to each other in over 3 years.  They both still owe me an apology for something my cousin did to me and they refuse to see that she is wrong.  The details are so old and boring I won’t get into it, but I’m hoping Sunday is drama free.
    Hope you all have a fantastic Friday!  Hopefully I’ll be popping in from time to time!
Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, full day recap, lunch, snack. Tags: , , , , .

Much Better… Too Busy!

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:16 am

    AWWWHHH hope all goes well with the shower!!!

  • 2. verbalriot  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Camel cheese?! I don’t know what my reaction would be either! Did it taste something like goat cheese?

    What a packed weekend, I hope you have fun and avoid the drama at the shower!

  • 3. Gina  |  May 1, 2009 at 9:37 am

    That cheese looks like whipped cream! You could definitely pull a nasty prank with that 🙂

  • 4. Sarah  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:06 am

    camel cheese is craaaaaaaazy! i have to hunt down some of that to try. might be worth it, just to say i did.

    so fun that you’ll have your friend close by!

  • 5. Sweetie Pie  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Camel’s cheese! Wow! How interesting. I’d probably try it, but then I’ll try almost any food at least once!

    I love the Peppermint Stick Luna bars. So yummy!

    I hope your weekend is drama free!

  • 6. ellie  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:53 am

    camel cheese? :O that is so cool/crazy (to me, lol…feta is about as exotic as I get cheese-wise!)

    hope you enjoy your Friday and have a nice weekend x

  • 7. ksgoodeats  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:55 am

    Ahhh weird cheese! Very interesting!! Gotta love those meatless meatballs 🙂

    Good luck this weekend with the family drama! Hope it goes smoothly!

  • 8. janetha  |  May 1, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    wow i didn’t even know camel cheese existed! sounds.. odd.. i am sure the luna bar was much better 🙂

  • 9. katecooks  |  May 1, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    ehh that cheese does look super weird! props to you for trying it. good luck this weekend, crossing my fingers for drama free 🙂

  • 10. Marisa (trim the fat)  |  May 1, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    Camel cheese!!!! Is your co-worker trying to torture you??!!! LOL!

    Glad you saved the day with the Luna bar;)

    sounds like a fun weekend – enjoy!

  • 11. Melissa  |  May 1, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Yeah, I am once again reminded to never eat something if I don’t know what it is!!

    Hope your have a great(drama free) weekend!!

  • 12. broccolihut  |  May 1, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    You’re about the umpteenth person I’ve heard rave about this Kashi Island Vanilla–must be good stuff!

  • 13. Graze With Me  |  May 2, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Camel cheese?! YUCK. It was very brave of you to try it before they told you what it was though. I don’t think I would have done that.

    I’ll have to try that choc peppermint bar soon, it sounds really good.

  • 14. Tina  |  May 3, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Camel cheese? Oh my, I know I would have been a bit nauseous after eating that too, but then… I probably wouldn’t eat it in the first place since I’m a vegan (well, most of the time anyway)

  • 15. elise  |  May 3, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    camel cheese? ew?

  • 16. Kate  |  May 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    haha sad! It’s so rare when a foodie finds a food we don’t like!!! Sorry bout that. Woa can we trade weekends actually? Yours looks way fun and eventful! Can’t wait to hear a/b it!

  • 17. homegirlcaneat  |  May 3, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Camel cheese?? I never knew this was existent in the world! I would have been sick and grabbed a luna bar too!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email Me:

365healthyeats@gmail.com

Follow Me On Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pages

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

