Time Flies…

March 22, 2009 at 8:43 pm 9 comments

When you’re having fun, and this was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time.  Between my birthday celebration last night and my trip to the city for the Blogger brunch today, it was full weekend, but a really great one!

Let’s start with my pictures from last night.

Before we went out to the bar, Laura and her fiancé Billy came over.  Somehow my favorite pickles became the topic of conversation and Laura wanted to try one.  I gave her my last one because I’m all for sharing the pickle love.  We of course took pictures.

Picture 001

Right before she tried it.

 picture-004

Chewing and taking in the flavors.  But did she like it?

Picture 005

Thumbs up!  She shared some with Billy who doesn’t even like pickles (how is that even possible?)  and he loved them too!

Picture 006

Then it was time for some presents, Andrew caved and gave me mine last night.  He got me two 5lb weights and a beginner’s yoga kit, which included a mat and dvd as well as some other accessories.

Can you tell I was excited to get the weights?

Picture 009

Laura had to give them a try.

Picture 012

I suppose they were too heavy for her.  After my friend Jessica and her boyfriend arrived and brought me some birthday balloons, we went off to the bar.  I drank way too much, but allowed myself to drink, since I’ve only drank one other time this year so far.  I drank diet coke and vodkas.

Picture 034

Laura ordered cheese nachos (that were super cheesy) but I gladly ate a few to help her out.

Picture 014

Andrew ordered Mozzarella sticks and I had a bite of one.

Picture 015

Here’s a picture of me and Andrew.

Picture 019

And here’s one of me Laura and Jessica.

Picture 023

Once I got home last night I fell right to sleep when my alarm went off this morning I was in no mood to get up but I had to get ready to leave for the blogger brunch!  We wound up taking the 10:25 train in, took 2 short sub way rides and arrived at Counter at 12:30 we walked around in the vicinity of the restaurant until 1.  Can I just say that I seriously have the sweetest boyfriend? He knew how nervous I was and took the train ride to the city with me, calmed me down when I was nervous about meeting everyone, and waited in a park for over 2 hours for me to be done with the brunch.  Thank you so much Andrew for being so amazing today and always!! I snacked on a couple bites of a bagel while waiting because in my rush in the morning I totally forgot to eat, (never thought I’d say that).   My head was pounding all morning between my sinuses and my drinking last night, so I was just kind of miserable, but the brunch definitely made me feel better!  Everyone was so super nice!  It was nice getting to talk and listen to people that I’ve read so much about.  I was kind of quiet between nerves and not feeling well though.

I ordered French Toast for my meal.

Picture 036

Do you see how thick that slice of bread in the back is? The french toast, I thought was just alright, which might have been a side effect of not feeling well so I ate the slice in the front and passed on some of the second slice to Mark and the rest to Sarah.  Mark agreed that it was just okay but I’m so glad I passed it off to Sarah because she seemed to really enjoy it!  Next time there’s any blogger event I hope to be able to talk more to both Sarah and Vani.  One thing I can say about all the bloggers is they are all super nice and come across just as sweet as they do on their blogs.  I also got tons of goodies but forgot to take a picture of them, I haven’t sampled anything yet so I’ll take pictures of those tonight and post those pictures tomorrow.

On the train I ate the rest of the bagel I got, minus the other half I dropped on the ground.

Picture 040

It was a really nice sunny day, here’s a view from the train on the way back.

Picture 042

I used my dad’s monthly train pass to get into the city today so we went to my parents house to drop it off to him.  As soon as I walked in I was hit with a fantastic smell.  My mom was roasting a whole chicken, and during the meatless lent that has been the only thing I’ve been craving.  Whole roasted chicken is my favorite Sunday dinner that my mom makes so it was really hard to resist, but I did it.  I have recently heard that you can have whatever you gave up for Lent on Sunday’s but I figure if you’re going to do something, do it right.  So I didn’t cave, although I really wanted to.  I had all the side dishes though.   My mom makes some banging mashed potatoes, after she’s done making them she puts them in the oven under the broiler with a little butter and paprika sprinkled on top.

Picture 050

Drool!

My plate consisted of mashed potatoes:

Picture 053

Broccoli:

Picture 054

And a side salad of just romaine lettuce with a little Light Caesar dressing.

Picture 052

And here’s what I missed out on:

picture-056 

Now I’m ready to lay down and get some sleep.  How does riding on a train for a few hours make you so tired?  Tomorrow is another busy day I have work all day then out to dinner for my 24th Birthday with my parents and then some ice cream cake and more presents!   Goodnight everyone!

Entry filed under: breakfast, dinner, lunch. Tags: , , , , , .

Saturday Night Celebration Another Year Older…

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    Oh my gosh, what a blast! I love the pictures, AND MMM TASTY TIME!!!

  • 2. marafaye  |  March 22, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    What a fun looking weekend!!! Exciting you got weights! I need to get some new ones soon…

  • 3. Sarah  |  March 22, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    wow, look at you and the determination, holding out on that chicken! and i LOVE your hair curly.

    it was great to meet you today — wish we’d had more time to chat. like i said in my post, next time i’m sitting next to you! (and yes, TOTALLY sweet of andrew to accompany you to the city!)

    i DID enjoy that french toast — don’t know what you guys were on about. it was soooooooo good 😉

  • 4. sweetandnatural  |  March 23, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Great to meet you today Danielle! Hope the french toast helped cure your hangover. 😛

  • 5. applec  |  March 23, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Looks like you had a terrific time. Congratulations and best wishes for a wonderful birthday.
    By the way – I emailed you last week about a link to your site on my post for today regarding POM. Take care and keep on smiling.:)

  • 6. Mariposa  |  March 23, 2009 at 8:03 am

    you look beautiful!!! i love your hair too.. glad you had fun at the blogger brunch! from all the other bloggers- it does look like you had a great time!

    Happy Belated Birthday!

  • 7. Vani  |  March 23, 2009 at 8:19 am

    So sweet of Andrew!! My boyfriend walked me to the subway because I kept saying I was nervous too! we’re lucky 🙂

    I wish we’d gotten to talk more! Now that I know you’re in the area, we should plan another get-together 🙂

  • 8. brandi  |  March 23, 2009 at 8:47 am

    happy happy birthday!!!

  • 9. dailygoods  |  March 23, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    glad you had such a great bday weekend! and that you got to go to the blogger brunch 🙂 so much funnnn!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Email Me:

365healthyeats@gmail.com

Pages

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031